Connecticut Homeschool Laws
If you plan to homeschool in the state of Connecticut, you need to understand Connecticut homeschool laws in a clear and concise manner. For many Connecticut parents, reasons to homeschool vary from a discomfort with school security to lackluster educational standards. Although Connecticut, like every state in the country, allows for homeschooling, you still must understand the laws which govern the process. Failing to comply with withdrawal forms or Connecticut homeschool curriculum standards can result in problems for the parent. Don’t forget to check out our how to homeschool guide for further information on homeschooling.
Connecticut Homeschool Laws
Connecticut’s general statute, Sec. 10-184, is the governing body over the state’s compulsory attendance law. Children ages five to 18 must attend a public school during the hours of that public school’s operations. In order to homeschool, the parent or guardian must show that the child is elsewhere receiving equivalent instruction.
The parent or guardian can consent to removal from the school based on having an equal educational standard as the public school.
The parent/guardian must visit the school premises where the student currently attends and sign the consent form to remove the child from the school for children that are 5 years old, 6 years old, or 17 years old. The school, in turn, should provide you with further instructions in the way of potential educational options and tools.
If your child is already enrolled in school, it is best to visit the school and withdraw the student in person. If you are planning to withdraw the student before the next school year, be sure to not allow the school year to begin before visiting the school and signing consent forms. Otherwise, the school may mark your child as absent.
Always make copies of forms you sign and make sure those forms are dated accurately. Bookkeeping errors are common with schools and can lead to your child being marked as truant.
Connecticut Homeschool Curriculum
As mentioned above, the state of Connecticut requires that a child being homeschooled by a parent/guardian be given equal instruction to the public school. Below is a list of subjects which MUST be taught in a homeschool.
- English grammar
- U.S. History
It is important to comply with curriculum standards so as not to cause your homeschool any issues with the state.
There is no required state testing that your homeschool child must pass.
Connecticut Homeschool Vaccine Laws
Connecticut homeschool vaccine laws are relatively cut and dry. Unless your child is enrolled in school, Connecticut vaccine laws don’t apply. So homeschool kids do not need to have or submit proof of vaccines.
Connecticut homeschool laws easily make it possible for a parent or guardian to take full control over their child’s education. Here’s a further, more technical source. Make sure you check out our homeschool guide for more information on general homeschool concepts and strategies.
Author: Jim Satney
PrepForThat’s Editor and lead writer for political, survival, and weather categories.
Please visit the CDC website for the most up-to-date COVID-19 information.
*As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases
Like Us On Facebook -